Major League Soccer has united with Liga MX for the formation of the Leagues Cup, an annual competition, which will be contested between North America’s top two leagues and will debut this July with the support of Concacaf.

The inaugural competition will feature four teams from MLS and four from Liga MX. Bastian Schweinsteiger’s Chicago Fire, Houston Dynamo, LA Galaxy and Real Salt Lake, will all take part from MLS in the tournament, whilst Club America, Cruz Azul, Tigres UANL and Club Tijuana will represent Liga MX.

MLS Commissioner Don Garber commented on the launch of the new tournament: “We are excited to take our partnership with Liga MX to the next level with Leagues Cup.

“We have an intense rivalry between our national teams, and Leagues Cup provides a terrific opportunity to increase the growing rivalry between MLS and Liga MX clubs.”

In future versions of the tournament, club achievements will determine qualification for the Leagues Cup, however for the debut tournament, four MLS teams were invited to compete at the tournament, alongside four Liga MX clubs, that were selected based on results in recent competitions.

Liga MX Executive President Enrique Bonilla added: “The rivalry between Liga MX and MLS clubs as well as the sporting level of both competitions grows constantly. We are aware that there are a great number of fans around the region who follow the leagues and we believe that Leagues Cup will allow us to bring Liga MX and that great fanbase closer together, while fortifying our sport in the region, which is already the most important in the continent in regards to infrastructure, media impact and the quality of the competition.

“This great event will mark a new start in this relationship moving forward, with a long-term vision.”

Concacaf president Victor Montagliani also emphasised: “Concacaf is committed to continuing the development of competitions that will further unite the confederation and provide more opportunities to develop players and connect passionate fans across our region.”


Previous articleCarabao strikes deal for extension of EFL partnership
Next becomes official partner of Premiership Rugby