The BBC and ITV will be broadcasting the UEFA Euro 2024 and UEFA Euro 2028 under a new media deal with UEFA.

Splitting the rights to each tournament equally, the pair will divide matches until a shared final. 

This arrangement maintains free to air coverage of the men’s UEFA European Championships and reflects the pattern for multiple previous UEFA Euro editions and FIFA World Cups, as well as the upcoming Qatar FIFA World Cup 2022.

Guy-Laurent Epstein, Marketing Director of UEFA, commented: “We are very pleased to continue our partnership with ITV and the BBC. 

“Each partner brings in-depth knowledge and expertise to the broadcasting of the UEFA European Football Championship and we look forward to the extensive and excellent coverage for the fans across the UK.”

The 2024 competition will see 24 teams compete across 51 matches in Germany, with the hosts and format for UEFA Euro 2028 still to be revealed.

“The BBC has proven time and again that we have the ability to bring the biggest sporting events to the widest audience,” Director of BBC Sport Barbara Slater noted. 

“The previous UEFA European Championships were a huge success so we’re delighted that we’ve completed this deal for the next two tournaments that we hope will provide even more memorable moments for viewers.”

BBC’s sports broadcasting portfolio also includes the Olympic Games, The FA Cup, Women’s Super League, Wimbledon Championships, the Six Nations and Match of The Day.

Niall Sloane, ITV’s Director of Sport, added: “This deal keeps the Euros available on free to air television for viewers for the coming years. 

“Having delivered the biggest ever UK single channel football audience of 27.6 million at last year’s Euros, for England’s semi-final victory over Denmark, we’re looking forward to bringing to the widest audiences the very best coverage of tournaments that have such broad appeal.”

ITV also this week announced that it is extending its rights to show the World Snooker Tour (WST). The channel will now continue to televise five events in the competition: The Champion of Champions, World Grand Prix, Players Championship, Tour Championship and British Open, until at least 2024.

Previous articleUnibet ‘fuels the ambitions’ of new cycling team Tour de Tietema
Next articleArgentina’s ‘influential’ Gran Premio Nacional gains SIS sponsorship