The NTT IndyCar Series has released its 2022 schedule with a record number of 14 out of 17 races to be broadcast on NBC, including its earliest season opener in 19 years.

With the season commencing Feb 27 next year at the Streets of St Petersburg, It’s the first February start since the Championship Auto Racing Teams circuit started its 2003 season in the city.

Mike Perman, Vice President of Programming for NBC Sports, commented: “This will bring added exposure to the series. With more races than ever on NBC, plus comprehensive live coverage of every minute of the 2022 season on Peacock with practices, qualifying and race simulstreams, we look forward to continuing to grow the sport.”

The June 5 race at Belle Isle in Detroit will be shown on USA Network, which also will broadcast the August 20 race at World Wide Technology Raceway. 

The July 17 street race in Toronto will become the first IndyCar race shown exclusively on the Peacock streaming platform, which was launched earlier this year as a replacement for the outgoing NBC Sports channel.

Additionally, Texas Motor Speedway will move to March for the first time, the second consecutive year the 1.5-mile track will be ahead of the Indy 500 and after being postponed this season to the Sept. 26 season finale. 

Meanwhile, the Acura Grand Prix of Long Beach will return with an April 10 race on NBC, its first network TV broadcast in 15 years.

Penske Entertainment President and CEO Mark Miles, noted: “This schedule continues to build on the growth and momentum the NTT IndyCar Series has achieved, especially in 2021. 

“Our terrific partnership with NBC Sports has led to a fantastic opportunity to place an unparalleled 14 events on broadcast television while completing the rest of the schedule with USA Network and Peacock.”

The partnership was originally established in 2009 when NBCSN televised the majority of its races each season. NBC Sports became the exclusive home of IndyCar in 2019, which also marked the year of NBC’s inaugural Indianapolis 500 broadcast, whilst the media rights agreement was extended once again in July 2021

Miles added: “Our drivers and teams will give the fans a strong, earlier start with six consecutive races on NBC, building even more anticipation for the crown jewel of the Indianapolis 500 in May. Our summer schedule also is full of action, with no extended breaks in the calendar.”

The season will conclude with eight races in nine weeks, with six broadcast by NBC. 

Previous articleOleksandr Usyk named Parimatch’s first responsible gaming ambassador
Next articleMichael Jordan ups investment and joins Sportradar in advisory role