TGL announces first three media partners ahead of 2025 launch

credit: Shutterstock
credit: Shutterstock

TGL, the golf league created by Tiger Woods and Rory McIlroy, has announced its first three international media partners ahead of its January 2025 debut. 

Woods and McIlroy’s TMRW Sports confirmed that Australia’s FOX Sports, U-NEXT in Japan and South Korea’s JTBC/Phoenix Sports International will broadcast the golf league in its respective markets. 

The league, presented by title sponsor SoFi, has also revealed that the three TV networks are also PGA Tour rights holders and will provide “cohesive promotional platforms” once competition begins. 

Mike McCarley, CEO and Founder of TMRW Sports, stated: “Golf is truly a global game and as we plan the launch of TGL presented by SoFi in 2025, we’re focused on expanding TGL’s global footprint. 

“We’re starting with media rights partnerships across three strong golf markets: Australia, Japan, and South Korea. We’re energised by the enthusiasm from these partners and the momentum we’re seeing in additional markets around the world.” 

FOX Sports Australia will provide TGL coverage live or on demand on its Foxtel and Kayo platforms. TGL adds to FOX Sports Australia’s golf offering, which features the US Open, PGA Championship, The Open and the Ryder Cup

TGL coverage will be broadcast on JTBC GOLF Channel, which is a partner for golf coverage in South Korea and also covers the aforementioned gold majors.  

Furthermore, ESPN will be the US broadcaster for the TGL once it commences in January and is set to become an alternative from traditional golf. 

The new golf league will be contested between six teams of three PGA Tour players on a virtual course of 18 holes. Following the 15 game regular season, the highest-ranked teams will feature in the semi-finals and subsequent final at the end of the season.

Woods and McIlroy have garnered significant interest for the TGL since it was created in 2022. Its investors include a litany of sports superstars, such as Stephen Curry, Kevin Durant, Lewis Hamilton, Shaquille O’Neal, Serena Williams and more. 

Previous articleThe Red Way: Liverpool leads Premier League in sustainability
Next articleReport: WSL nets media and sponsorship renewals to drive further growth