Eurosport secures Pure ETCR broadcasting rights

Nelson Piquet Jr competing in the Formula E ePrix Round 2 in Marrakesh Morocco in 12 january 2019

The debut season of electric touring car racing series Pure ETCR will be covered by international sports broadcaster Eurosport.

Promoted as ‘the world’s first all-electric multi-brand touring car championship’ by Eurosport Events, Pure ETCR is due to start in May 2021.

This represents an expansion of Eurosport’s already extensive electric racing portfolio, already holding the rights to the World Touring Car Cup in addition to providing coverage of Formula E races since 2014.

Coverage of six Pure ETCR events will be provided on the Eurosport 1 and Eurosport 2 channels, available in more than 75 territories in Europe, Africa, Asia and the Middle East.

As Eurosport is a subsidiary of the wider Discovery network – which also has a stake in Formula E – the station’s eracing content will also be available on the new discovery+ streaming service, which can be viewed by racing fans in Scandinavia, Italy, Spain, Germany, the UK, Ireland, the Netherlands, Portugal, Romania, Czech Republic, Greece, Turkey, Hungary and Iceland.

Pure ETCR was founded by Marcello Lotti’s WSC Group in February 2020, Speaking at the time of the launch, Eurosport President Andrew Georgiou said: “Discovery is excited to expand its long-standing commitment to electric motorsport which began with the group’s early investment in Formula E.

“As Pure ETCR is unveiled today, we see the opportunity to drive the advancement of electric motorsport through Discovery’s worldwide expertise in media and broadcasting, as well as Eurosport Events’ proven track record in growing some of the most popular motorsports series in the world.”

Electric racing is set to expand significantly in 2021, as the global Extreme E tournament also makes its debut. 

Discovery has also managed to land broadcasting rights to this event, as well as Sky Sports and the BBC, which will feature racing teams – one of which is owned by seven time Formula One champion Lewis Hamilton – compete in five different Grand Prix’s in different locations of the world affected by climate change.

Previous articleNFL veteran to star in TwinSpires’ new campaign
Next articleAllied Sports hires Jeff Ehrenkranz to spearhead international expansion